A day of art making with my three year old

painring

My three and a half year old and I just finished a painting that we had started yesterday. The light and dark blue clouds, the brown explosion in the background and the blue vertical line in the middle are all his. There was some negotiation towards the end. He wanted to paint over the whole image with blue paint but by that time I had already fallen in love with what we had done. So we negotiated a compromise which was that he painted over my leaves and then we both then used the end of our paint brushes to scrape the leaves back into the painting.

Later that day my son made himself some clay shoes. He came running around the comer into the kitchen wearing them saying “Mama I made myself slippers”. We tried to make me a pair but alas there was not enough clay.

clay shoe

One comment

Leave a Reply

